Don't forget to file your Homestead Exemption Form! Save on Property Taxes!
Changes in Texas Property Tax Laws Affecting Residential Homestead Exemptions
**Effective September 1, 2011, in order to qualify for a residential homestead exemption you must provide the appraisal district with a copy of either your Texas driver's license or Texas ID Card.
**The address on your driver's license or state ID card must match the physical address of the residence for which you are applying.
**This address must also be the same as the address on your vehicle registration. Attach a copy of your vehicle registration receipt to your homestead application.
**Remember: Your physical street address must match the address on your vehicle registration and both must match the address on your driver's license or state ID card.All three MUST have the same address.
**On the back of this page is important information to help you get an updated vehicle registration and/or and updated or new driver's license or Texas-issued personal ID Card. No vehicle? That's covered, too.
Other useful links and information to get the proper homestead forms and information for filing.
Can fill out online with this link and print a clean copy
Please note that in Step 6 of the Application Form it asks for the Authorized Signature(s) of qualified owner(s) so if there is a husband and wife purchasing a home it is a good idea that both the husband and the wife sign the application so in the event that there is a divorce or a death in the family that the remaining spouse still maintains his or her homestead exemption.
I have laid down all of the information but it can also be found on all of the local CAD websites.
To Obtain a Vehicle Registration Receipt
In order to change the address on your vehicle registration and obtain a Duplicate Vehicle Registration Receipt to attach to your homestead exemption application, please contact the County Office in which you live by phone or mail. You will need to complete and submit Form MV-440, Request for Texas Motor Vehicle Information, which may be obtained at any county office location, by mail or the cad websites. There is typically a small fee for the Vehicle Registration Receipt.
If You Don't Own a Vehicle
Please complete the Non-Ownership of Motor Vehicle Affidavit on your homestead exemption application. This must be sworn statement signed before a Notary Public. You also need to attach a copy of your homestead exemption application of utility bill for the homestead property showing the bill is in your name and the utility address matches the physical address of the homestead property.
Texas Driver's License
If you have a current Texas Driver's License and you move to a new location in Texas you have 30 days to change the address on your driver's license. The simplest way to do this is online. Go to www.txdps.state.tx.us and follow the instructions changing your address. You will need to have a valid credit card for paying the $10.00 fee, and you will need access to a printer so that you can print out your temporary receipt. Otherwise, call or go in person to one of the Texas DPS locations.
For a new Texas driver's license (first time license or moving to Texas from out of state) go in person to a DPS location. You will need to complete an application, provide proof of identity (proof of Social Security, birth certificate, or an out of state driver's license), provide proof of vehicle registration, consent to be photographed, fingerprinted, and provide a signature. You will need to pass a vision examination. First time applicants need to schedule a time for taking the driving test and pass both the driving and written test. Out of state applicants should apply within 90 days after entry into the state and need to be prepared to surrender their valid out of state driver's license upon application.
Hope you found this information both useful and informative.